Presentation

Equirando

The Equirando, event of the National Equestrian Tourism Committee of the French Equestrian Federation, takes its name from the contraction of "riding" and "hiking". With around 1,000 participants from all over France and different countries (Belgium, Italy, Switzerland, Spain, Morocco, etc.), it is the largest European gathering of riders and leaders practicing outdoor riding.

The concept is simple, each participant starts from where they want and reaches the point of arrival, covering more than 100 kilometers with a horse, donkey or mule harnessed or mounted. The hiker organizes his stages as he sees fit to discover the regions crossed at his own pace. They leave for a week or several months, from France or abroad, the routes are different but all have the same destination.

The Equirando, known for its festive atmosphere and its big parade, puts horse riding in the countryside and the French regions in the spotlight.

The French Equestrian Federation entrusts the organization of each edition of this unique event to an Organizing Committee of the host region.

The participants are called Equirandins.

"The largest European equestrian tourism gathering"

With the Equirando, set off to discover the regions: gastronomy, tourism, culture, landscapes... Equirandians from the four corners of France and Europe carry out a hike of at least three days - several weeks, even several months - to find this festive gathering which puts outdoor riding and the French regions in the spotlight. With a horse, a mule or a donkey, mounted or harnessed, everyone reaches the place of the festival at their own pace, which changes with each edition.

His history

The idea of ​​Equirando was born in 1961, when Henri Roque, a horseback rider, crossed France to Paris to meet the officials of the agricultural fair, and spoke on the way about the disappearance of the horse in everyday life. and in the army. He then organized a large gathering of outdoor horse riders at Puy du Fou, when summer came. The second edition, the summer of 1962, brought together more than 200 riders.

The event took the name of Equirando in 1987, from the contraction of "riding" and "hiking".

Annual until 2004, the event has since become biannual.

The Equirando in a few figures

..

In France & in Europe

It is the largest European gathering of Equestrian Tourism.

03

Holidays

Once the hike is over, 3 days of celebrations and entertainment end this unforgettable moment.

1000

Equirandins

A unique adventure alone or in a group that will make you want to start the next edition!

A dedicated service

FFE Tourism

en_GB

Présentation

L'Equirando

L’Equirando, manifestation du Comité National de Tourisme Équestre de la Fédération Française d’Équitation, tient son nom de la contraction d’ « équitation » et de « randonnée ». Avec environ 1000 participants venant de toute la France et de différents pays (Belgique, Italie, Suisse, Espagne, Maroc…), il est le plus grand rassemblement européen de cavaliers et de meneurs pratiquant l’équitation de pleine nature.

Le concept est simple, chaque participant part d’où il le souhaite et rallie le point d’arrivée, en parcourant plus de 100 kilomètres avec un cheval, un âne ou une mule attelé ou monté. Le randonneur organise ses étapes comme il l’entend pour découvrir les régions traversées à son rythme. Ils partent un semaine ou plusieurs mois, de France ou de l’étranger, les itinéraires sont différents mais tous ont la même destination.

L’Equirando, connue pour son ambiance festive et son grand défilé, met l’équitation de pleine nature et les régions françaises à l’honneur.

La Fédération Française d’Equitation confie l’organisation de chaque édition de cet événement unique à un Comité d’Organisation de la région hôte.

Les participants sont appelés Equirandins.

"Le plus grand rassemblement européen de tourisme equestre"

Avec l’Equirando, partez à la découverte des régions : gastronomie, tourisme, culture, paysages… Des équirandins venant des quatre coins de la France et d’Europe effectuent une randonnée de trois jours minimum – plusieurs semaines, voire plusieurs mois – pour retrouver ce rassemblement festif qui met l’équitation de pleine nature et les régions françaises à l’honneur. Avec un cheval, une mule ou un âne, monté ou attelé, chacun rejoint à son rythme le lieu de la fête, qui change à chaque édition.

Son histoire

L’idée de l’Equirando naît en 1961, lorsque Henri Roque, un cavalier randonneur, traverse la France jusqu’à Paris pour rencontrer les responsables du salon de l’agriculture, et parle en chemin de la disparition du cheval dans la vie quotidienne et dans l’armée. Il organise alors un grand rassemblement des pratiquants de l’équitation d’extérieur au Puy du Fou, l’été venu. La seconde édition, l’été 1962, rassemble plus de 200 cavaliers.

La manifestation prend le nom d’Equirando en 1987, de la contraction d’ « équitation » et de « randonnée ».

Annuelle jusqu’en 2004, la manifestation est devenue bisannuelle depuis.

L'Equirando en quelques chiffres

..

En France & en Europe

C'est le plus grand rassemblement européen de Tourisme Équestre.

03

Jours de fêtes

Une fois la randonnée achevée, 3 jours de fêtes, d’animations clôtures ce moment inoubliable.

1000

Equirandins

Une aventure unique seul ou en groupe qui vous donnera l’envie de recommencer l'édition suivante !

Un service dédié

FFE Tourisme

fr_FR